Willbreaker Rule Question
Asked by RedDiomedes 9 years ago
With Willbreaker, when I target a creature with a spell or ability it becomes mine so long as willbreaker remains in play. If I played willbreaker1, gained control of creatures A+B and than played willbreaker2 and gained control of creature C only to than have willbreaker1 die. Will I lose creatures A+B? lose creatues A+B+C or lose none of them?
Asking for my Deck Willbreaker, Willshaper
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
Whenever a card use its own name in its text, the use is self-referential and means "this object" unless the use is characterized by "a card named ~" or similar wording.
Each Willbreaker is unique. Each applies its own control-changing effect. If one instance of Willbreaker leaves the battlefield, then the control-changing effects tied to it will end. Other Willbreakers will remain unaffected.
In this case, that means that losing Willbreaker 1 means losing control of creatures A and B.
Note that if you have two or more Willbreakers, each will apply a control-changing effect to a creature an opponent controls targeted by a spell or ability you control. Therefore, you get overlapping control-changing effects, and your opponent would need to remove each Willbreaker to end all of the effects.
July 29, 2015 9:24 a.m.
RedDiomedes says... #3
Okay I better play with some pen and paper than. thanks.
July 29, 2015 9:46 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... #4
Please remember to select an answer to remove your question from the active queue.
GoblinsInc says... #1
You lose control. Will breaker one's control change effect ends when he leaves the field, it doesn't matter if there is another object with the same name.
201.4. Text that refers to the object its on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.
July 29, 2015 9:23 a.m.