What happens to the exiled cards if Necropotence is destroyed?
Asked by Lazarus369 11 years ago
If I use my Necropotence at the begging of my turn and exile 5 cards, and then my opponent uses something like Demystify to destroy my Necropotence at instant speed, do I still get to put the exiled cards in my hand at the my end step even though Necropotence is no longer in play?
Yes, you'll still get the exiled card in hand at end of turn if Necropetence leaves the field.
See ruling at http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?&multiverseid=3865
"Removing Necropotence from the battlefield will not stop the cards from the life-payment ability from being put into your hand in the end step."
In general, removing the source of an ability after the ability has resolved will not stop the ability's effect.
December 31, 2013 4:23 p.m.
Lazarus369 says... #3
Excellent. Thats what I figured but I just wanted to make sure. Thank you.
December 31, 2013 4:24 p.m.
You're welcome.
Checking the card's Gatherer entry is a great way to see if your question has already been asked.
For this general situation, the way I like to think about it is if an ability is generated by a permanent and then the permanent is destroyed then it's no different than if the ability was generated by an instant or a sorcery. Sure the card is in your graveyard, but the ability still happened.
lookoutimscary says... #1
The cards would still go into your hand, the effect of them doing so is pre-determined so the Necropotence doesn't have to be on the battlefield to make it happen.
December 31, 2013 4:22 p.m.