Vexing Devil Redirect

Asked by NobodyPicksBulbasaur 13 years ago

I'm pretty sure the answer to this one is "Yes", but I'd like to clarify it first.

If I cast Vexing DevilMTG Card: Vexing Devil while my opponent controls a Planeswalker, and they choose to take the 4 damage, can I redirect that damage to their Planeswalker?

I'm pretty sure the answer is yes because a source I control is dealing 4 damage, which can be redirected. I just want to make sure that it doesn't get muddled up because they are choosing to take the damage.

KorApprentice says... #1

306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied.

I don't see anything here that says you can't, so fire away!

April 12, 2012 10:25 p.m.

mafteechr says... Accepted answer #2

If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent

You are the opponent and you control Vexing DevilMTG Card: Vexing Devil.

that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead

You may redirect Vexing DevilMTG Card: Vexing Devil's damage.

April 13, 2012 6:33 a.m.

This discussion has been closed