Vastwood Hydra + Board Wipe question

Asked by mysterion 11 years ago

If I have a X/X Vastwood Hydra and my opponent plays a Supreme Verdict , could I flash in a Skylasher after the Supreme Verdict resolves to save my counters from being lost (by moving them to the Skylasher ) or is there some "on the stack" fancy-ness that would prevent this.

Alafoss says... #1

If you flash in Skylasher before Supreme Verdict resolves then the Skylasher will die and the tokens will be lost.

If you flash in Skylasher after Supreme Verdict resolves, Vastwood Hydra 's tokens won't have a target when it dies and will be lost.

August 25, 2013 8:03 p.m.

Aerokid says... Accepted answer #2

Vastwood Hydra 's death ability doesn't specify a target when it goes on the stack. I believe if you flashed in Skylasher after the verdict while the ability is still on the stack, you could put the counters on him.

August 25, 2013 8:06 p.m.

erabel says... #3

How this can work is:

  1. Supreme Verdict goes on the stack, and (probably) resolves.
  2. Vastwood Hydra 's on-death trigger goes on the stack, as well as any other on-death or LTB triggers (Let's assume there aren't any others).
  3. Maintaining priority, cast Skylasher . It will most likely resolve, as it can't be countered.
  4. Vastwood Hydra 's on-death trigger resolves, and you've got something to put the counters on.

So yeah, flashing it in will work, but only if you cast it between the resolution of the boardwipe and the resolution of the Hydra trigger.

August 25, 2013 8:11 p.m.

mysterion says... #4

I totally forgot Skylasher has protection from blue! Lol so either way, it'd survive a Supreme Verdict becuz Verdict is both White and blue and Skylasher is immune to blue. poor example on my part. I think erabel is correct but if anyone else has any input or rulings, I'm open.

August 25, 2013 9 p.m.

GoldGhost012 says... #5

Technically, Supreme Verdict can kill Skylasher . Protection does nothing against mass boardwipes or similar effects.

August 25, 2013 9:08 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

@mysterion: That's incorrect. Protection only prevents damage and stops enchanting, equipping, blocking, and targeting. Supreme Verdict does none of these, so protection won't save Skylasher .

August 25, 2013 9:36 p.m.

mysterion says... #7

Yea I forgot about DEBT in protection (Damage-Enchant/Equip-Blocking-Targeting) my brain is a bit scattered at the moment lol >_<

August 25, 2013 9:52 p.m.

This discussion has been closed