Using Planeswalker abilities twice

Asked by joga 13 years ago

I have a Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas with 4 loyalty counters and cast his ultimate ability, tezz dies. I cast another Tezzeret, agent of bolas and use card:Tezzeret's Gambit bringing his loyalty to 4. Can i use his third (ulti) ability again for the second time?

KorApprentice says... Accepted answer #1

Of course, the loyalty ability rule is specific to each permanent. The new Tezzeret you played is a different permanent than the one that died, and since it had not activated a loyalty ability that turn, you may use any ability he has enough loyalty to use.

November 7, 2011 6:35 p.m.

kevinmtg24 says... #2

yes you can since its a new tezzeret and his abilty hasnt been used yet

November 7, 2011 6:35 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

The restriction on planeswalker abilities is that you may not activate two loyalty abilities of the same planeswalker permanent in one turn. Two different planeswalkers may have one ability activated each on each of your turns.

TL;DR: Yes.

November 7, 2011 9:41 p.m.

rabidweasel says... #4

Do the people who ask these questions get put up to it by admins or something? my 8 year old sister knows most of these answers, LEARN to play the game please or go back to Yu-Gi-Oh

November 8, 2011 12:30 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Not everyone understands every nuance of the game. Asking a question is better than constantly misplaying and misinterpreting the rules.

November 8, 2011 12:55 a.m.

joga says... #6

why is rabidweasel a dick? Oh i know, because he fucks his sister

November 8, 2011 3:17 a.m.

senhor114 says... #7

Joga --- Nice!!

November 8, 2011 8:52 a.m.

icekillaxx says... #8

No its because he has a small dick! haha and used too play yugioh. im glad i havent seen him comment on anything else! Everyone here is nice and supportive, not everyone is on the same level... Magic has 1000+ rules, rulings, different abilities the only way to get the answer to the problem is to ask the question no matter how obvious it may seem. and hold on speaking of planeswalkers couldnt you use Venser, the Sojourner ability more than once if used on himself?

November 8, 2011 11:21 a.m.

tappedout1234 says... #9

No because you have to use Planeswalker's abilities as sorceries, and he would come back at your end step: (you can't play sorceries during your end step). You could do it to reset his loyalty, but he starts out at 3, so it wouldn't really make sense to do that (because if he was at 1, he would go back to three anyway because that's what he starts at)

November 8, 2011 2:47 p.m.

rabidweasel says... #10

Its not being a dick its point out that is a basic rule of the game? oh so i can play all the lands in my hand?

November 12, 2011 12:49 a.m.

Planeswalkers are by no means regarded as basic, comparatively speaking. There are a lot of common questions asked about them, and since there are only a handful and they are a recent addition to the game, it is logical that those questions would be so common.

On the other hand, it is also kind of a basic rule of the site that you be polite when posting or refrain from saying anything. This is a community-driven place, so maintaining an appropriate atmosphere is, well, appropriate.

November 12, 2011 7:58 p.m.

This discussion has been closed