Upkeep effects

Asked by aMNKYonSTEROIDS 12 years ago

If there are multiple cards on the field with upkeep effects, is there a special stack when they activate depending on the order the card was played or does it all happen at the same time?

Example: I have Archdemon of Greed  Flip  Flip and enchant him with card:Commander's Authority. On my next turn do both effects happen at the same time? If so, can I sacrifice the token for the demon? Or does the demon's effect activate first, meaning I have to tap him and take the damage since I don't have the human.

Since two triggers you control are placed on the stack at the same time, you get to choose the order in which they are placed. You can put the human token trigger above the sacrifice token, and then sacrifice the token you create when the Archdemon's effect resolves.

July 8, 2012 11:52 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... Accepted answer #2

You order the effects as you wish as you are the affected player. Here are the relevant rulings.

503.1. First, any abilities that trigger at the beginning of the upkeep step and any abilities that triggeredduring the turns untap step go on the stack. (See rule 603, Handling Triggered Abilities.)

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player,in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities he or she controls on the stack in any order he or shechooses. (See rule 101.4.)

July 8, 2012 11:54 p.m.

Phobophile says... #3

the active player's upkeep abilities go on the stack first

the abilities controller chooses which order they go on the stack.

it's perfectly fine for you to order them so that you make a token, and then sacrifice it before the archdemon's upkeep trigger resolves.

July 9, 2012 9:17 a.m.

This discussion has been closed