Trash for Treasure and Booby Trap
Asked by noodlecz 13 years ago
Hi,can I play Trash for Treasure with additional cost Booby Trap and put that same Booby Trap to play from graveyard?
I understand this I pay for Trash for treasure, then that sorcery goes to stack (meanwhile booby trap is in graveyard) and I play trash for treasure to tat booby trap.
thanks for anwer
That is incorrect Rhadamanthus. When casting a spell, you first annouce the spell, then pay the costs, then select the targets. So you once you pay the cost for Trash for Treasure , the booby trap is in the graveyard. He can choose to select it.
January 15, 2012 9:55 a.m.
- Casting Spells
601.1. Previously, the action of casting a spell, or casting a card as a spell, was referred to on cards as "playing" that spell or that card. Cards that were printed with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference so they now refer to "casting" that spell or that card.
601.1a Some effects still refer to "playing" a card. "Playing a card" means playing that card as a land or casting that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate.
601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast (see rule 717, "Handling Illegal Actions"). Announcements and payments can't be altered after they've been made.
January 15, 2012 9:56 a.m.
601.2a The player announces that he or she is casting the spell. That card (or that copy of a card) moves from where it is to the stack. It becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has all the characteristics of the card (or the copy of a card) associated with it, and that player becomes its controller. The spell remains on the stack until it's countered, it resolves, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
601.2b If the spell is modal the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2). If the player wishes to splice any cards onto the spell (see rule 702.45), he or she reveals those cards in his or her hand. If the spell has alternative or additional costs that will be paid as it's being cast such as buyback, kicker, or convoke costs (see rules 117.8 and 117.9), the player announces his or her intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 601.2e). A player can't apply two alternative methods of casting or two alternative costs to a single spell. If the spell has a variable cost that will be paid as it's being cast (such as an X in its mana cost; see rule 107.3), the player announces the value of that variable. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes hybrid mana symbols, the player announces the nonhybrid equivalent cost he or she intends to pay. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes Phyrexian mana symbols, the player announces whether he or she intends to pay 2 life or the corresponding colored mana cost for each of those symbols. Previously made choices (such as choosing to cast a spell with flashback from a graveyard or choosing to cast a creature with morph face down) may restrict the player's options when making these choices.
January 15, 2012 9:57 a.m.
601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires. A spell may require some targets only if an alternative or additional cost (such as a buyback or kicker cost), or a particular mode, was chosen for it; otherwise, the spell is cast as though it did not require those targets. If the spell has a variable number of targets, the player announces how many targets he or she will choose before he or she announces those targets. The same target can't be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word "target" on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word "target" in multiple places, the same object, player, or zone can be chosen once for each instance of the word "target" (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). If any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target, the player chooses targets so that he or she obeys the maximum possible number of such effects without violating any rules or effects that say that an object or player can't be chosen as a target. The chosen players, objects, and/or zones each become a target of that spell. (Any abilities that trigger when those players, objects, and/or zones become the target of a spell trigger at this point; they'll wait to be put on the stack until the spell has finished being cast.)
January 15, 2012 9:57 a.m.
601.2e The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be 0. It can't be reduced to less than 0. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes "locked in." If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.
601.2f If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, "Mana Abilities"). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.
601.2g The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can't be paid.Example: You cast Altar's Reap, which costs 1B and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost 1 less to cast. Because a spell's total cost is "locked in" before payments are actually made, you pay B, not 1B, even though you're sacrificing the Familiar.
601.2h Once the steps described in 601.2a-g are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell's controller had priority before casting it, he or she gets priority.
January 15, 2012 10 a.m.
I reread all of this as i was posting it and realized that i was wrong and Rhadamanthus was initially correct. you choose to play the costs before you choose targets, but you actually pay the costs after the targets have been selected.
Sorry for causing confusion and for flooding the thread, but these rules are there and will help you understand why Rhadamanthus is correct.
January 15, 2012 10:04 a.m.
Um, the rules you just quoted actually contradict you.
601.2a - Announce you are casting the spell and place it on the stack.
601.2b - Choose the mode, the value of variable costs, intent to play alternative, additional, and special costs, and how hybrid mana will be paid.
601.2c - Choose targets and effect per target.
601.2e - Determine the cost of the spell.
601.2f - Activate any mana abilities.
601.2g - Pay the costs to cast the spell.
Rhadamanthus is correct.
January 15, 2012 10:09 a.m.
yeah. i read them after i posted them and then realized it was wrong when i read them again. from now on, i will read rules twice before i answer questions haha :p
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1
In the process of casting a spell, targets are chosen before costs are paid. The artifact you sacrifice for the additional cost isn't in the graveyard at the time you choose targets for Trash for Treasure , so you can't choose it.
January 15, 2012 9:27 a.m.