transforming an artifact into a creature and summoning sickness

Asked by student-of-life 12 years ago

If I lay down an Orzhov Keyrune can I turn it into a creature that turn and attack that turn? a couple of friends were curious since it becomes a creature but you had not already controlled it for the whole turn.

Denial048 says... Accepted answer #1

You cannot attack with it the turn you played it. One way to think of it is all cards have summoning sickness, but it only affects creatures. In this way, you cannot play a land, turn it into a creature and attack with it, because the summoning sickness prevents it. Same goes for the Keyrunes (and all other artifacts that turn into creatures)

March 21, 2013 9:23 p.m.

kanofudo says... #2

I do not believe this is so. The Izzet Keyrune becomes a 2/1 blue and red elemental with the ability (draw a card:discard a card when this creature does damage to a player). It is IMPOSSIBLE for this ability to trigger if the newly created creature cannot attack. You see the creature is CREATED and not SUMMONED. A small linguistics difference, but still effective.

March 23, 2013 6:41 p.m.

Denial048 says... #3

@kanofudo, Scenario. You have 5 mana, play the Keyrune. Use it's ability to animate it. You cannot attack that turn, as it had just entered the battlefield.

Scenario. You play the Keyrune. On your next turn, you animate it. It does not suffer summoning sickness, as it has been under your control continuously since the beginning of your upkeep.

So Izzet Keyrune s ability to draw/discard on damage can take affect, just it cannot attack the turn the Keyrune itself entered the battlefield.

March 23, 2013 9:53 p.m.

kanofudo says... #4

Oh ok, i didn't notice in the OP where it mentioned same turn attacking. My bad! :)

March 24, 2013 8:19 a.m.

Denial048 says... #5

All good, I had a bit of trouble understanding the keyrunes when I first saw them (it was a month after I started playing) but after reading the full comprehensive rules from start to finish, I have a decent grasp on the rulings.

March 24, 2013 3:06 p.m.

This discussion has been closed