Tokens going into graveyard are not affected by "when card enters graveyard" effects?
Asked by ThumperBrah 12 years ago
Hello all,
My understanding of a token is, it's not classed as a card, so any cards that say "when any card goes to graveyard this turn" exp Duskmantle Guildmage a token won't trigger the ability. Am I right?
But skills that say things like "when a creature enters the graveyard" the skills will be activated by a token.
Thanks in advance.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
Correct. Effects that specifically concern themselves with cards will not check for tokens because tokens are not cards. Tokens are, however, permanents, so any effect that specifies permanent will count tokens as well as permanent cards.
CamperCarl00 says... #1
Duskmantle Guildmage 's specific errata is "The delayed triggered ability created wont trigger if a token permanent is put into an opponents graveyard." So no, a token hitting the graveyard won't activate the "when any card goes to the graveyard this turn" effect.
July 4, 2013 11:46 p.m.