Thopter Assembly and Call to the Grave- Simultaneous Effects?

Asked by notinuse 13 years ago

If I control a Call to the Grave and my opponent controls Thopter Assembly with no other creatures, how do the effects hit the stack during their upkeep?

Does Thopter Assembly create tokens? Does it still return to my opponents hand or does it go to the graveyard due to Call to the Grave 's effect? Does my opponent sac on of their 1/1 thopter tokens?

Epochalyptik says... #1

When multiple triggered abilities have triggered simultaneously, their controllers put them onto the stack in APNAP (active player, next active player) order. This means that the player whose turn it is will put his or her abilities onto the stack first, then the next player, then the next and so on. This means that the triggered abilities belonging to the player who would receive priority last are on top of the stack and resolve first.

In this case, since it is your opponent's turn, he or she will put his or her Thopter Assembly 's triggered ability onto the stack. Then, you will put your Call to the Grave 's triggered ability onto the stack. If there are no responses, your opponent will be forced to sacrifice Thopter Assembly to the Call to the Grave ability, and therefore will not be able to get the Thopter tokens.

January 7, 2012 3:38 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Here is the Comprehensive Rulebook quote to support this:

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities he or she controls on the stack in any order he or she chooses. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

Note that Thopter Assembly 's ability will be on the stack, but it will not do anything because your opponent no longer controls Thopter Assembly.

January 7, 2012 3:42 a.m.

notinuse says... #3

So, is this a misinterpretation of that same rule? Sorry, but I'm not sure how to link URLs here:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20111103001907AAPIRRu

January 7, 2012 4:27 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Actually your opponent will still get the tokens. I misread Thopter Assembly . I assumed it said "return Thopter Assembly to its owner's hand. If you do, put five 1/1..."

Therefore, Thopter Assembly's ability is not dependent on it being returned to its owner's hand. The controller will still get his or her tokens.

January 7, 2012 4:44 a.m.

notinuse says... #5

So do they sacrifice a 1/1 thopter token to Call to the Grave ? My understanding of the APNAP ruling would mean that their triggered ability goes on the stack, then mine. Mine resolves first due to "last in, first out", causing them to sacrifice Thopter Assembly .

January 7, 2012 5:26 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #6

Yes. They sacrifice Thopter Assembly, but they get their tokens afterward.

January 7, 2012 5:37 a.m.

This discussion has been closed