This is crazy, please help!
Asked by SquirrelPenguin 5 years ago
So the other day, I used Frankie Peanuts with Staying Power, and asked: "Are you going to attack with all of your creatures every turn for the reat of the game?" the answer was: no, I will not attack with ALL of my creatures for the rest of the game. So then my opponent now can't attack with all of their creatures at a time. The next turn, I asked: "Are you going to attack with any of your creatures every turn for the rest of the game?" he then said yes. Now my opponent can't attack with all of his creatures, but he also has to attack with at least one creature every turn. What if he only controls one creature?
SquirrelPenguin says... #2
Raging_Squiggle, thanks, I knew one of them would have to trigger, but I didn't know which one.
May 2, 2020 2:53 p.m.
If your opponent were to attack with all of their creatures on one of their turns, they still wouldn't be attacking with all of their creatures for the rest of the game.
May 3, 2020 11:38 a.m.
Raging_Squiggle says... #4
“For the rest of the game” is just a duration that’s been set, the restriction is he cannot attack with all creatures he controls during each of his turns.
May 3, 2020 5:14 p.m.
Then why would your opponent have said no to that first question? I've only played with Frankie a handful of times, but each time there was intense debate about what specific implications the wording of his questions have. But so long as the players all agree, then that's what matters.
May 4, 2020 6:46 a.m.
Right, but if your question functionally meant "At any point in the game, will you attack me with all the creatures you control at once?" then why would they have answered "no"?
I think just removing the qualifying time from the question basically has the result you're looking for (as long as Staying Power remains on the battlefield) without being open to interpretation.
May 4, 2020 12:12 p.m.
SquirrelPenguin says... #8
Yesterday, I am not sure, but he didn't have to attack with all of his creatures, only some of them.
May 4, 2020 12:37 p.m.
Right, gotcha. I'm just prodding at the exact wording of the Frankie question in the OP. If that wasn't it word-for-word then you can just ignore me completely.
If it did come down to a direct rules contradiction in trying to follow two answers, then Raging_Squiggle had you covered. As a rule of thumb, "can't" always trumps "can".
Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1
Frankie says they must abide by the answer If Able.
Combat for that player now has a condition and a restriction: the condition is he must attack each turn with at least one creature while the restriction is he cannot attack with all creatures.
If any Restrictions are being disobeyed, the attack declaration is illegal and the game reverses to just before the declaration. If your opponent has only one creature, they cannot attack each turn.
May 1, 2020 9:12 p.m.