Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas and Summoning Sickness

Asked by Dracog 13 years ago

My opponent played a Contagion Clasp on turn three, and on turn four he plays a Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas and uses -1 to make the Clasp a 5/5.

Can it immediately attack then? Or since it wasn't a creature at his upkeep it has summoning sickness

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Every permanent has summoning sickness, but only creatures are affected by it. A permanent that becomes a creature will be subject to that effect. A permanent loses summoning sickness when it goes through one of its controller's untap steps.

Since the Contagion Clasp will have lost summoning sickness that turn, it will be able to attack if it gains the type "creature" during that or any of its following turns. Summoning sickness does not care if the permanent becomes a creature for the first time during a given turn. Only whether or not it began the turn on the field of its controller.

July 30, 2011 8:21 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

302.6. A creatures activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost cant be activated unless the creature has been under its controllers control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature cant attack unless it has been under its controllers control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the summoning sickness rule.

If you were interested, there is the official passage from the comprehensive rulebook. Even though the Clasp was not a creature when the turn started, the rule still refers to the same permanent, that Contagion Clasp. A change in the status of a permanent does not reset its timestamp and force it to regain summoning sickness.

July 30, 2011 8:25 p.m.

This discussion has been closed