Tezzeret 2.0s second ability to make Darksteel Juggernaut into a 5/5, what happens to the */* ability?
Asked by glueball 14 years ago
I was playing a game and made darksteel juggernaut into a 5/5.
I was playing a game and made darksteel juggernaut into a 5/5.
Tezz says... Accepted answer #1
This is like another question posted earlier
Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas 2nd ability doesn't change or remove abilities from your artifacts, however since it establishes a new set value to the creature's power the Darksteel Juggernaut 's power/toughness would be auto set to 5/5 because this would be the last
The Ruling seems complicated but it's very simple actually:
613.1. The values of an objects characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object. For a card, that means the values of the characteristics printed on that card. For a token or a copy of a spell or card, that means the values of the characteristics defined by the effect that created it. Then all applicable continuous effects are applied in a series of layers in the following order:
(skipped to the one that matters)
613.1g Layer 7: Power- and/or toughness-changing effects are applied
613.3. Within layer 7, apply effects in a series of sublayers in the order described below. Within each sublayer, apply effects in timestamp order. (See rule 613.6.) Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied within a sublayer. (See rule 613.7.)
613.3b Layer 7b: Effects that set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value are applie
613.6. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is usually done using a timestamp system. An effect with an earlier timestamp is applied before an effect with a later timestamp
(The card will always identify itself with it's last effect that set it to a determined value/type/characteristic/color)
March 20, 2011 11:44 p.m.