Targets for Mass Mutiny?
Asked by NobodyPicksBulbasaur 13 years ago
Mass Mutiny technically says that you choose a creature that each opponent controls, and gain control of it.
My question is, due to targeting rules and the wording on the card, does EVERY opponent need to have a creature in order for me to cast this card? It kinda seems like I need to have at least one legal target for each opponent. The wording "for every opponent" is throwing me off.
actually it targets the creature, but if at least one opponent controls a legal target you can cast it
June 27, 2012 9:43 a.m.
GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #3
The way it was printed means every opponent needs a creature to cast it. But it is currently worded "up to one target creature" so for each opponent that has 0, you can choose zero target creatures
June 27, 2012 10:22 a.m.
doinitwrong says... #4
GoblinsInc is right, the oracle text currently states "For each opponent, gain control of up to one target creature that player controls until end of turn. Untap those creatures. They gain haste until end of turn."
June 27, 2012 12:44 p.m.
NobodyPicksBulbasaur says... #5
Thanks for the help. Just looked at the oracle text.
MTG_Player says... #1
No, you can play this spell if an opponent has no creatures, because the spell targets each player, not each creature.
June 27, 2012 9:33 a.m.