summoning sickness
Asked by xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx 13 years ago
just to be clear if a spell or ability (triggered or activated) would put any kind of creature into play after all cards get untaped is there any way to keep them from suffering from summoning sickness?
a guy i play with keeps saying that he puts them in at the start of his upkeep but im saying that it not the begining by the time the ability resolves
IgnatiusJReilly says... #2
If I understand what you're asking then you are correct, a turn has already begun during a players upkeep. Right after your untap step of your beginning phase is the upkeep step. A creature has to be under your control before your turn begins to be able to tap for abilities or to attack. He may be confused about the end step of your opponent which is when you can activate abilities and cast instants right before your turn begins, meaning if you produce creatures this way they will be under your control before your turn starts and can tap and attack- (opponents end step is before you untap your mana for your untap step and have begun your turn.) Of course Haste avoids summoning sickness.
602.5a- explains some of "summoning sickness"501.1 -explains beginning phase
September 27, 2011 1:18 a.m.
IgnatiusJReilly says... #4
Yeah, so unless the creature has haste or something like Urabrask the Hidden causes it to have haste, it cannot tap to activate its abilities or attack. As for the upkeep thing, you cant cast creatures during your upkeep anyway so im not sure where thats coming from. You could cast an instant or activate an ability that puts a creature out but it would have summoning sickness until the player has controlled it since before the beginning of their turn.
September 27, 2011 1:36 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #5
The Untap Step is the first part of any player's turn unless it is somehow skipped by an effect.
302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.
If a player puts a permanent onto the battlefield by any means during any stage of their turn, that permanent cannot have been under their control since the beginning of their turn. BoT is not a relative time. It means the moment a player's turn actually begins (again, typically the Untap Step).
Haste allows a permanent (specifically, a creature permanent) to be unaffected by summoning sickness. A permanent with haste needn't have been under its controller's continuous control since the beginning of his or her turn for its tap abilities to be activated or for it to attack.
xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx says... #1
rule book or oracle quote please
September 27, 2011 1 a.m.