Strive and counter spells

Asked by theDers 6 years ago

If I cast a spell like Hour of Need do i need to announce how many targets i am going to strive toward? This is a question mostly concerning counter spells such as Dissolve . If i cast Hour of Need and my opponent does not counter the spell can i strive for an additional target or do i announce the amount of targets along with the announcement of casting the spell?

Absinthman says... Accepted answer #1

Selecting target(s) for a spell is part of the casting process. Priority can be passed to other players only after their casting process has finished. Basically, what this means is that when you cast any spell (not only a strive spell), you announce your targets during casting process. The total cost of the strive spell is then derived from the total number of targets it has. Then you pay the cost, the spell is considered fully cast, and only then comes the time for your opponents to respond.

July 9, 2014 2:21 p.m.

This discussion has been closed