scavenge

Asked by saltyk 11 years ago

with Varolz, the Scar-Striped on the field and Slitherhead is in the graveyard do you get to pick the scavenge cost you pay is it the the mana cost?

saltyk says... #1

im pretty sure its the mana cost but im double checking

October 9, 2013 4:02 a.m.

Dorotheus says... Accepted answer #2

4/15/2013: If a creature card has multiple instances of scavenge, you can activate either ability (but not both, as the card will be exiled when you activate one of them). Varolz's ability doesn't affect the scavenge cost of a creature's other scavenge ability.

October 9, 2013 4:13 a.m.

saltyk says... #3

i was more concerned with the part of Varolz, the Scar-Striped that says the scavenge cost is equal to the mana cost

October 9, 2013 4:20 a.m.

Dorotheus says... #4

Yes
The ruling is from the gatherer ruling

You would look at each creature with Scavenge as though it had 2 instances of Scavenge. One being what is printed on the card, and one being the effect that Varolz gives them, you have the choice of paying either cost. So Deadbridge Goliath you can pay 4GG or 2GG to exile it while it is in the graveyard, and then put 5 +1/+1 counters, for its power, on a target creature.

October 9, 2013 4:25 a.m.

This discussion has been closed