Scapegoat

Asked by gmac1993 11 years ago

If I use Scapegoat to sacrifice a False Prophet , can I return other creatures to my hand, or would they die? Which part resolves first?

gmac1993 says... #1

for clarification, I meant "or would they be exiled" instead of "or would they die"

April 18, 2014 2:15 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Sacrificing a creature is an additional cost to cast Scapegoat . When you pay the total casting cost, False Prophet will be sacrificed, and False Prophet 's on-death ability will trigger. The ability will wait until you are finished with Scapegoat 's casting process. At that time, you will put the ability on top of the stack.

Therefore, the ability will resolve first and exile all creatures. Then, Scapegoat will attempt to resolve, but it will instead fizzle (be countered by the game rules for having zero remaining legal targets).

April 18, 2014 2:19 a.m.

Matsi883 says... #3

Always check Gatherer. Except, this time, it's on the discussion page.

April 18, 2014 8:56 a.m.

This discussion has been closed