Rooftop storm in EDH

Asked by Demonwalker 13 years ago

I'm 99% Sure that if I have a Rooftop StormMTG Card: Rooftop Storm on the field and my zombie commander dies, I have to recast him for 2. What I'm asking is, If My commander dies while I have Rooftop Storm on the field, Is he free to play, or do I pay an additional 2 like I'm thinking?

OmegaSerris says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, you still have to pay the extra 2 (per time he returned to the command zone).

117.9d If an alternative cost is being paid to cast a spell, any additional costs, cost increases, and cost reductions that affect that spell are applied to that alternative cost. (See rule 601.2e.)

903.10. A player may cast a commander he or she owns from the command zone. Doing so costs that player an additional 2 for each previous time he or she cast that commander from the command zone that game.

February 29, 2012 10:07 p.m.

OmegaSerris says... #2

Sorry, it isn't add the emphases like I wanted. The key word there in the rules is "additional".

February 29, 2012 10:10 p.m.

OmegaSerris says... #3

Sorry, it isn't add the emphases like I wanted. The key word there in the rules is "additional".

February 29, 2012 10:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed