Questions on Rules for Morphs
Asked by TheWaltSpot 10 years ago
Does Bile Blight take out all of my morphs?
If someone uses Anger of the Gods killing my morphs do i have to show them the creature since they are facedown creatures? Basically are they exiled face down?
if someone target a morph and I flip it while the spell is still on the stack even though i know morph does not got on the stack will the spell fizzle? Also adding on to that if the morph is flipped after targeting and it has Hexproof does the spell fizzle?
These are just my Immediate questions because i'm trying to run a Morph tempo deck in standard.
Nigeltastic says... #2
Also please ask rules questions in the Q&A forum, found on the top banner. Epochalyptik will be along shortly to move this to Blind Eternities (most likely).
September 30, 2014 7:07 p.m.
CrazyLittleGuy says... #3
Yes. They all have the same name while face-down.
Yes, any time a morph creature leaves the battlefield you must show it to all players. This includes when a game ends and you still have face down creatures. This is to guarantee that you're not cheating.
First part, no. The creature is still the same creature, so the spell still targets it.
If the creature has Hexproof, then the spell will fizzle when it checks if all creatures are still legal upon resolution. (this is the only one I'm not 100% sure on, could someone verify this so I don't have to check?)
Also, all rules questions should be posted in the MTG Q&A located above. Epoch will likely move this.
September 30, 2014 7:08 p.m.
TurboFagoot says... #4
"Yes. They all have the same name while face-down."
This is incorrect. Morphs have no name, creature type, or color.
September 30, 2014 7:09 p.m.
CrazyLittleGuy says... #5
Whoops, I lied about the first one. Bile Blight will only kill one creature. Sorry, I'm pretty tired, don't listen to me right now.
September 30, 2014 7:10 p.m.
Nigeltastic says... #6
To be 100% correct, Morphs do have a name, but those names are "Morph 1, Morph 2 ... Morph n", so they don't share a name. Knowing that things like Bile Blight doesn't work is sufficient for most people.
September 30, 2014 7:12 p.m.
702.35a. Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card its on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. Morph [cost] means, "You may cast this card as a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and no mana cost by paying 3 rather than paying its mana cost." (See rule 707, Face-Down Spells and Permanents.)
707.9. If a face-down permanent moves from the battlefield to any other zone, its owner must reveal it to all players as he or she moves it. If a face-down spell moves from the stack to any zone other than the battlefield, its owner must reveal it to all players as he or she moves it. If a player leaves the game, all face-down permanents and spells owned by that player must be revealed to all players. At the end of each game, all face-down permanents and spells must be revealed to all players.
707.8. As a face-down permanent is turned face up, its copiable values revert to its normal copiable values. Any effects that have been applied to the face-down permanent still apply to the face-up permanent. Any abilities relating to the permanent entering the battlefield dont trigger and dont have any effect, because the permanent has already entered the battlefield.
September 30, 2014 7:17 p.m.
Nigeltastic says... #9
That's mostly to keep track of them though. That's another thing, you can't mix around your morphs, you must always be careful to indicate which ones are which at all times.
September 30, 2014 7:18 p.m.
Nigeltastic says... #10
Hmm... I was informed incorrectly then. I presumed Brad Nelson knew what he was talking about. I must, as always, bow to the comprehensive rules.
September 30, 2014 7:20 p.m.
TheWaltSpot says... #12
Yep my bad sorry I didn't even know about the MTG Q and A
September 30, 2014 8:21 p.m.
fluffybunnypants says... #13
In case it needed to further be beaten to death. Morphs have no name, hence the token being confusing as eff.
Also, you must reveal your Morph cards at the end of the game or face game loss.
TurboFagoot says... Accepted answer #1
Morphs have no name, Bile Blight will kill 1 morph
Any time a Morph would change zones, reveal it. This includes exile.
The spell will still target the same creature after you turn it face up. If that creature has hexproof now, the spell will fizzle upon resolution (Trying to resolve, at least)
September 30, 2014 6:59 p.m.