Protection and enchantments/artifacts

Asked by -MisterJ- 10 years ago

okay so we have resigned that if a creature gains protection from artifacts, apparently equipment falls off... Even though it's no longer targeting the creature after its equipped.

But now a friend is arguing that the same is not true of enchantments if a creature gains protection from the color of the aura AFTER it has been enchanted.

Because: "303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player as defined by its enchant ability and other applicable effects, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

The debate now, is does having protection from (color) make the permanent an illegal object?

billpasdmf says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, the enchantment will fall off. There's an acronym to help remember what protection from (X) entails: DEBTDamageEnchanting or equippingBlockingTargeting

Once a creature has protection from any quality that the enchantment/equipment has, it will fall off.

June 8, 2015 2:32 a.m.

EddCrawley says... #2

Unless a card specifically says otherwise, eg Spectra Ward

June 8, 2015 4:17 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

702.16c A permanent or player with protection can't be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based action. (See rule 704, "State-Based Actions.")

702.16d A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent as a state-based action, but remain on the battlefield. (See rule 704, "State-Based Actions.")

June 8, 2015 6:40 a.m.

This discussion has been closed