Predicament About Master of Predicaments

Asked by NikDa 10 years ago

If the ability of Master of Predicaments activates on a Villainous Wealth, and the opponent guesses wrong, what does X equal?

alulien says... Accepted answer #1

X will = nothing as X may only be paid with mana. Since you're casting without paying its mana cost you would cause your opponent to exile the top 0 cards of their library.

April 14, 2015 6:32 p.m.

Please post rules questions in the Rules Q&A.

X will be 0. Whenever you cast a spell with without paying the mana cost, it will always equal 0.

April 14, 2015 6:33 p.m.

Ninja'd.

April 14, 2015 6:33 p.m.

JWiley129 says... #4

This should be in the Rules Q&A linked to at the top of the page. Epochalyptik or ChiefBell will be around to move it.

And alulien is correct. Whenever you cast an X spell without paying its mana cost, X automatically equals 0.

April 14, 2015 6:33 p.m.

erabel says... #5

First of all, this is a rules question. We've got a dedicated part of the site for those (it's linked in the header bar; "Rules Q&A"). ChiefBell or Epochalyptik or someone will be along shortly to move the thing.

Second of all, from the Gatherer page for Master of Predicaments:

If the card has X in its mana cost, X is 0.

Finally, on a more minor note. Master of Predicaments' final ability does not activate. It triggers. Activated abilities are worded "Cost: Effect". Triggered abilities use the words "when", "whenever", or "at".

April 14, 2015 6:33 p.m.

erabel says... #6

Damn, the ninja chain is real.

April 14, 2015 6:34 p.m.

NikDa says... #7

Ok, thank you! Best go fix my deck!

April 14, 2015 6:35 p.m.

filledelanuit says... #8

Please remember to select an answer to remove it from the queue.

April 14, 2015 8 p.m.

This discussion has been closed