Phyrexian Metamorph and non-creature artifacts

Asked by Emrakool 13 years ago

If I play Phyrexian MetamorphMTG Card: Phyrexian Metamorph as a copy of a non-creature artifact will it die when it resolves as a 0/0 creature or does it become a permanent copy of that artifact and lose its creature status?

hunter9000 says... #1

No, if it becomes a copy of a non-creature artifact, then it necessarily can't also be a creature. It's only a 0/0 creature if you choose not to copy something else. Otherwise it only has the characteristics of what it copied, plus it's an artifact.

April 14, 2012 10:37 a.m.

Kazabet says... Accepted answer #2

706.2. snip The copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty) snip

This is everything that's copied. As "Card Type" is a copiable value, the Artifact Creature type of Phyrexian Metamorph is overwritten by the card that's being copied. If it's just copying an Artifact, then it will become an Artifact and no longer be affected by the State Based Action that moves a 0 toughness creature to the graveyard.

April 14, 2012 2:29 p.m.

This discussion has been closed