phyrexian mana

Asked by wei3721 13 years ago

sorry for the noob question, cause i not sure

  • when i got 1 or 0 life, and have phyrexia-unlife in play. can i still pay phyrexia mana using life?

nightscape says... Accepted answer #1

Phyrexian UnlifeMTG Card: Phyrexian Unlife

No, because you can't pay for something with a resource you don't have. In this case, you don't have enough life to pay the 2-life cost.

March 7, 2012 11:12 a.m.

mafteechr says... #2

118.8. If an effect says that a player can't lose life, that player can't exchange life totals with a player who has a lower life total; in that case, the exchange won't happen. In addition, a cost that involves having that player pay life can't be paid.

March 7, 2012 11:22 a.m.

rckclimber777 says... #3

6/1/2011 If you're at 1 life or less, you can't pay 2 life.

This is from the oracle ruling for gitaxian probe and is in reference to phyrexian mana.

So in other words even though you can't lose the game with less than 0 life you still may not pay the life to use it.

March 7, 2012 12:04 p.m.

Shavingfoams says... #4

You cannot pay life you don't have, even if you wouldn't lose the game.

March 8, 2012 1:25 a.m.

wei3721 says... #5

ok thanx all~

March 8, 2012 11:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed