Nevinrryal's Disk?

Asked by creelgoe 11 years ago

So there are two versions of Nevinrryal's Disk out there. One that has to be tapped to activate and an (I think) older version that doesn't. How does that work? Are they both legal?

creelgoe says... #1

Okay I realized I misspelled Nevinyrral's Disk

August 26, 2013 12:25 a.m.

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #2

All cards, regardless of printing, use their oracle text in a game. The oracle text can be found on gatherer at gatherer.wizards.com

the current oracle text is:

Nevinyrral's Disk enters the battlefield tapped.1, Tap: Destroy all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments.

This does not change no matter what the physical card says. This method allows for older cards to be used without reprints, and without damaging the rules.

August 26, 2013 12:26 a.m.

GoblinsInc says... #3

Oh and for legality, if one printing of the card is legal in a specific format, all printings are.

August 26, 2013 12:27 a.m.

PotatoPi says... #4

By the way, the older version doesn't have the tap symbol because it is a "mono artifact" which means it must be tapped as a cost to use its abilities.

August 26, 2013 4:38 a.m.

This discussion has been closed