multiple draw, consecrated sphinx and jace's erasure?

Asked by fathermad 13 years ago

opponent has an effect causing them to draw 2 cards. i control Consecrated Sphinx and card:Jace's Erasure.

which order would things go on the stack and resolve?

draw 2 actually reads draw 1, draw 1.

would they draw 1, sphinx ability goes on stack, resolves, i draw 2, jace's erasure goes on stack, resolves, they mill 2. then the process starts again with their second draw?

fathermad says... #1

sorry for the post i found some answers.

the abilties listed trigger but don't get put on the stack or resolve till later.

so, opponent will draw 1, trigger sphinx, draw 1, trigger sphinx. then abilities go on stack and resolve, if i draw 2 then erasure goes on stack and resolves. then i once again may draw 0 or 2 from the other sphinx ability that's already on the stack.

115.2a Triggered abilities can trigger at any time, including while a spell is being cast, an ability is being activated, or a spell or ability is resolving. (See rule 603, Handling Triggered Abilities.) However, nothing actually happens at the time an ability triggers. Each time a player would receive priority, each ability that has triggered but hasnt yet been put on the stack is put on the stack. See rule 115.

and

603.5. Some triggered abilities effects are optional (they contain may, as in At the beginning of your upkeep, you may draw a card). These abilities go on the stack when they trigger, regardless of whether their controller intends to exercise the abilitys option or not. The choice is made when the ability resolves. Likewise, triggered abilities that have an effect unless something is true or a player chooses to do something will go on the stack normally; the unless part of the ability is dealt with when the ability resolves.

thanks

June 25, 2011 11:58 p.m.

drawing cards does not go onto the stack you just draw them the instant the thing making you draw the card resolves

so you draw your cards and then the enchantment puts 2 of its abilitys onto the stack and resolve 1 after the other

June 26, 2011 5:04 a.m.

BrightGreenLine says... Accepted answer #3

You more or less answered your own question, so I'll break it out into the 'proper' action order.

  1. Opponent draws 2 cards. Consecrated Sphinx triggers twice.
  2. First Sphinx trigger resolves, you may draw 2 cards. If you do, Jace's Erasure triggers twice.
  3. Jace's Erasure #1 resolves, opponent mills one.
  4. Jace's Erasure #2 resolves, opponent mills one.
  5. Second Sphinx trigger resolves, you may draw 2 cards. If you do, Jace's Erasure triggers twice again.
  6. Repeat #3 and #4.
June 26, 2011 10:12 a.m.

This discussion has been closed