morph ruling

Asked by patrickloyd 10 years ago

so lets say i Shock the 2/2 morphed creature. can you respond and say i am morphing it to make it bigger like it morph into a 3/3 to survive the shock. and if you are morphing a creature can i respond and say i will Shock and kill that creature to stop the morph.

Matsi883 says... Accepted answer #1

No. Rule 702.36d says "This is a special action; it doesn't use the stack..." Therefore, by the time you would Shock it again, it would already have morphed.

September 15, 2014 8:36 p.m.

Morph is first and foremost a special action, and one that does not use the stack. When you pay the Morph cost on a face-down creature, priority is not passed and no abilities go on the stack; it simply becomes the face-up creature.

September 15, 2014 8:41 p.m.

GlistenerAgent says... #3

Morph is an action that does not use the stack. This means that the ability cannot be responded to, and the creature will immediately become whatever it really was instead of a vanilla 2/2. If that means that Shock wouldn't kill it, then the creature won't die unless you use more burn to kill it. If the creature has a "when this card is turned face up" ability, that ability will trigger before Shock resolves.

September 15, 2014 8:41 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

You just don't listen, eh?

September 15, 2014 9:17 p.m.

This discussion has been closed