Mind grind vs hydra

Asked by VinylScratch 11 years ago

Mind Grind The hydra doesnt have lands so even for just one it would exile the whole hydra deck. Would this work or not?

hochmaster says... #1

I don't really know what you're asking, but I will try to answer:

Mind Grind does not exile cards, it puts them in the graveyard. In a deck with no lands, paying for the spell such that you mill for 1 land will effectively mill the entire deck. Clarify what you mean by "hydra", though.

October 17, 2013 9:32 p.m.

VinylScratch says... #2

The Vs Hydra game day challenge. Have you not heard about it? https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10201334007365773 Its basically like an npc boss type of thing that you and like 2 friends can team up and fight.

October 17, 2013 9:37 p.m.

golffore297 says... #3

It would probably work, but no one, save the Wizards and the Pros they have showed it to, fully know about the hydra deck. I think it is more meant to be a thing just for fun though.

October 17, 2013 9:41 p.m.

hochmaster says... #4

Oh, that thing. I'm not sure how Mind Grind would work against that, surely they would have some kind of contingency against it.

October 17, 2013 9:42 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

The complete set of rules for the Hydra Challenge Deck haven't been officially released. Unless there's something unusual going on with the way the Challenge Deck interacts with effects like Mind Grind , grinding for anything will mill the entire deck.

October 17, 2013 11:30 p.m.

Mewgle says... #6

From what I gather, cards in the Hydra deck reference "each player". And refers to itself as "The Hydra".

So I think that Mind Grind will do nothing against the Hydra since the Hydra is not a player and therefore not an opponent.

The Hydra is the Hydra.

October 18, 2013 12:01 a.m.

Devonin says... #7

Yeah it seems pretty obvious that they won't do something as stupid as "Hey here's an effect we've put all over cards in standard that make this entire concept we've created utterly trivial"

They are professionals.

My guess is that the hydra will still be targetable by the players, but the library won't be called the library so any cards that reference its library won't do anything.

October 18, 2013 12:10 a.m.

WomboCombo says... Accepted answer #8

Looks like an FAQ is up that answers your question. Source: http://www.wizards.com/WPN/News/Article.aspx?x=2013_10_07_THEhydraQA

"Decking the Hydra: Almost there, but the Challenge is not yet over! The Hydra plays on even if its library is empty."

October 18, 2013 12:53 a.m.

VinylScratch says... #9

Thanks wombocombo thats exactly what I wanted to know. Still it stops it from growing any more heads, or doing anything new. Then you just have to kill the remaining heads and you win.

October 18, 2013 10:32 a.m.

This discussion has been closed