Mimic Vats. Who gets priority?

Asked by ShimmerVoid 11 years ago

Say in a 3 player EDH game and 2 players have Mimic Vat s out. Let's say A and B. Then during C's turn, a creature under C's control dies. Who gets priority on the Mimic Vat trigger? A or B?

Kamero says... #1

I dont play multiplayer games but, i found a rule:

101.4. If multiple players would make choices and/or take actions at the same time, the active player(the player whose turn it is) makes any choices required, then the next player in turn order (usuallythe player seated to the active players left) makes any choices required, followed by the remainingnonactive players in turn order. Then the actions happen simultaneously. This rule is often referredto as the Active Player, Nonactive Player (APNAP) order rule.

I dont know if this answer to your question

September 21, 2013 2:38 p.m.

Arachnarchist says... #2

To expand on Kamero's answer. Player A gets priority, which means his Mimic Vat 's ability will be put on the stack first. Then player B gets priority and his trigger is place on the stack. So player Bs triggered ability will resolve first and he will be able to exile the creature onto his Mimic Vat . Then player As ability will resolve and the creature will not be there to be exiled.

September 21, 2013 3:14 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

@Kamero: 101.4 refers to situations in which multiple players must make choices, so it isn't relevant in this case. 603.3b is the rule you need.

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities he or she controls on the stack in any order he or she chooses. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

In this case, the active player (C) has no abilities to stack. (A) will then stack his or her ability, and (B) will put his or her ability on top of (A)'s. (B)'s ability will therefore resolve first. (B) will choose whether to imprint the creature card. If he or she does, then (A)'s ability will do nothing (although it will still resolve). If he or she does not, (A) has the chance to imprint the creature card.

September 21, 2013 3:25 p.m.

ShimmerVoid says... #4

Thank you. That was the answer I needed.

September 21, 2013 5:47 p.m.

This discussion has been closed