legendary rule

Asked by Enditoren 10 years ago

if i play like 2 different jaces, for example Jace, the Mindsculptor and Jace, Architect of Thought i have to chose ane ond sac the other one..but what is with creatures?if i have a Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind and a Niv-Mizzet, Dracogenius , do i keep both or have i to cas one?and does the sac of two exactly same legendary creatures count as dying?so trigger morbide os something?

filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #1

There are technically two rules here

-Legendary rule. This applies to permanents. If you control two legendary permanents with the same name then you must put one into the graveyard as a statebased action. This is not sacing it and will not trigger abilities.

-Planeswalker Uniqueness: If you control two planeswalkers with the same subtype you must put one into the graveyard as a statebased action.

TL;DR: Planeswalkers check their subtypes and Permanents check their name.

August 22, 2014 7:23 p.m.

filledelanuit says... #2

To actually answer your questions

  1. You are correct about the jaces

  2. You can keep both but it is a flavor fail.

August 22, 2014 7:23 p.m.

nighthawk101 says... #3

Quick note: you don't sacrifice permanents due to either rule: They just go to the graveyard. And yes, it would trigger Morbid, because "dies" is a shorter way of saying "put into the graveyard from the battlefield."

August 22, 2014 7:48 p.m.

This discussion has been closed