Keyword Lifelink Plus Non-keyword
Asked by Adams880 10 years ago
My opponent has a creature in play, say, Aurelia, the Warleader. This Aurelia has Armadillo Cloak enchanted on it. It also is enchanted with Lifelink. Does it count for double life because the Armadillo Cloak is not keyworded lifelink. It says "Whenever this creature deals damage, you gain that much life" rather than lifelink. Please use Oracle text or Official Rules please.
Your opponent would gain twice as much life as Aurelia dealt damage. Armadillo Cloak doesn't give a creature lifelink, it makes the controller of Armadillo Cloak gain life whenever the enchanted creature deals damage. This has two important differences from lifelink: first of all, it uses the stack because it's a triggered ability. Second you can use it on an opponent's creature to basically prevent it from dealing damage to you, since you control Armadillo Cloak you gain live whenever the enchanted creature deals damage. Note that if you use Armadillo Cloak this way you would still die if an attack of the enchanted creature puts you at 0 or less live, since Armadillo Cloak has a triggered ability you would lose the game before the ability could resolve.
December 27, 2014 4:50 a.m.
Since you wanted oracle text, Armadillo Cloak hasn't been erratad to lifelink or anything like that, it's oracle text just says: "Whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that much life", wich has nothing to do with lifelink.
December 27, 2014 4:53 a.m.
I did, not entirely sure what happened with that. Thank you magicnerd0815
December 27, 2014 1:42 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #6
Make sure you're using double square brackets with no spaces around the card name.
Adams880 says... #1
Feel free to let me know without Oracle text, I would just appreciate them
December 27, 2014 2:51 a.m.