Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur + opponent's hand size
Asked by scholar 13 years ago
When I cast a Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur on my turn and it resolves and enters the battlefield under my control, at which point does my opponent discard their hand, assuming the standard hand size of seven cards? Would it happen automatically as Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur resolves? Or would it happen at the end of my opponent's next turn?
Thanks all!!
KorApprentice is correct.
From the 'clean up step' in the comp rules:
514.1 First, if the active player's hand contains more cards than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to reduce his or her hand size to that number. This turn-based action doesn't use the stack.
At that's the only time that the game checks your hand size.
February 22, 2012 2:41 p.m.
KorApprentice says... #3
The relevant rulings, from the MTG Comprehensive Rulebook:
514 - Cleanup Step
514.1. First, if the active players hand contains more cards than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to reduce his or her hand size to that number. This turn-based action doesnt use the stack.
February 22, 2012 2:42 p.m.
I'm a flippin' ninja XD
You were still correct anyways. Just figured I'd jump in the supporting deposition.
KorApprentice says... Accepted answer #1
They would be forced to discard at the end of their next turn during the cleanup step.
February 22, 2012 2:38 p.m.