Is Mimeofacture usable in EDH by using cards similar to Totally Lost?

Asked by firstxdegree 11 years ago

Proposed Scenario:

  1. Player A Cast Mimeofacture

  2. No responses.

  3. Begin resolving.

  4. Line 1: Choose target permanent an opponent controls.Player A Chooses Player B's Storm Crow (for example)

  5. ...reactions...

  6. Player A Casts Totally Lost targeting the same Storm Crow putting it back on top of Player B's library.

  7. Player A Continues resolving Mimeofacture Search that player's library for a card with the same name and put it into play under your control. Then that player shuffles his or her library.

  8. Storm Crow is now the top card of Player B's Library.

Does this scenario work like this??Please help enlighten me.

raithe000 says... #1

This does not work. You do not get priority to cast spells while a spell is resolving. You cannot cast Totally Lost in the middle of Mimeofacture's resolution.

February 11, 2014 1:49 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

Targets are chosen while the spell is being cast, before it starts resolving, but responding to Mimeofacture by removing its target will cause it to be countered by the rules.

February 11, 2014 5:17 p.m.

raithe000 says... #3

Ah, Rhadamanthus is correct. I skipped over the target part, thought it said "Choose a permanent" or something like that. If you remove the target, the spell just gets countered, nothing happens.

February 11, 2014 5:23 p.m.

This discussion has been closed