is lifelink a triggered ability

Asked by brn3445 6 years ago

?

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

No. Lifelink causes the damage to also heal you; it is a static ability which modifies how damage is dealt. Triggered abilities always include "When," "Whenever," or "At," and the lifelink rules since Magic 2010 do not. Prior to that, it was a triggered ability.

702.15a Lifelink is a static ability.

May 25, 2014 1:14 a.m.

GreatSword says... #2

It isn't. Triggered abilities are abilities that always start with the words "When, whenever, or at", like the card Strionic Resonator says.

The ability lifelink changes the result of damage. Instead of just dealing damage, it also gains the controlling player life equal to the damage dealt. This doesn't use the stack; it happens immediately, as the damage is being dealt.

May 25, 2014 1:15 a.m.

brn3445 says... #3

but doesnt it reads whenever this creature deals combat damage you gain that much life?

May 25, 2014 11:25 a.m.

GreatSword says... #4

Those are the basic word-of-mouth rules, but this is the actual text for the rules:

  • 702.15b Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that sources controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes).
May 25, 2014 12:09 p.m.

brn3445 says... #5

good

May 25, 2014 12:12 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #6

Even without going to the comprehensive rules; the reminder text of Lifelink is: Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life.

May 25, 2014 7:03 p.m.

This discussion has been closed