Is Clever Impersonator still a UU2 creature copying another non land perm when on the battlefeild?

Asked by ColdHeartedSith 10 years ago

Ok what i'm actually looking for is the rule for shapeshifters that copy other creatures. Whether ot not impersonator maintains his borders and mana symbols. I was told at a TCG Silver tournement by a judge that he retains his Mana symbols and borders and lost a game vs this situation, so I added him and Thassa to my U/R Soul and was told by a different level 2 judge this isnt true and lost because Thassa needed 1 devotion to be a creature and I had Chief Engineer but chose to deploy impersonator to copy Sorin thinking Thassa would be live. I was pissed but now I wanna know which judge was right? I can't find the ruling.

GlistenerAgent says... #1

A copy of a permanent has that permanent's mana cost, color, everything. The Impersonator will not contribute devotion to Thassa.

December 6, 2014 12:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Copy effects copy all the copiable characteristics of an object. These characteristics are basically the things written on the card, including name, mana cost, types, and text.

December 6, 2014 12:09 p.m.

So then the instant it enters the battlefield as a planeswalker it ceases to be a creature even though it says creature in its type, its only relevant on the stack and in the graveyard unless it copies a creature correct?

December 6, 2014 3:23 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

The copy effect modifies how Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield, and it overwrites the base characteristics of Clever Impersonator. Clever Impersonator never exists on the battlefield as a creature for any amount of time in this scenario.

December 6, 2014 5:09 p.m.

basically thats what I said in my last. Thanks for fortification of my understanding.

December 6, 2014 5:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed