If you sac an opponent's creature, which graveyard does it go to?

Asked by brud 11 years ago

If I control an oponents creature and sacrifice it, which graveyard will that card go to? Mine or my opponents?

cr14mson says... #1

your opponent's graveyard

December 30, 2013 4:36 a.m.

Matsi883 says... #2

A graveyard is a private zone; there is one for each player. So, when a creature dies, it goes to its owners graveyard. That's why cards like Boomerang say "Return target permanent to its owners hand," because the hand and graveyard are private zones, but the battlefield is public.

December 30, 2013 6:24 a.m.

Dracoson says... Accepted answer #3

All permanents go to their owner's (not necessarily controller's) graveyard.

  • 404.1. A graveyard is a discard pile. Any object that's countered, discarded, destroyed, or sacrificed is put on top of its owner's graveyard, as is any instant or sorcery spell that's finished resolving. Each player's graveyard starts out empty.
December 30, 2013 8:21 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

@Matsi883: Though each player has his own graveyard, the graveyard is a public zone. It's public because all the cards in it are visible to everyone at all times. The difference between public and hidden zones has to do with who's allowed to look at the cards in them (there's no in-game definition for a "private" zone).

December 30, 2013 9:54 a.m.

Matsi883 says... #5

OK. So now I know. Thank you Rhadamanthus.

December 30, 2013 9:55 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

Just to clarify the extent of the rules in this regard, nothing you own can ever be put into another player's hand, library, or graveyard.

December 30, 2013 1:49 p.m.

This discussion has been closed