If there are 2 hiveminds out in play, does every spell get copied twice?
Asked by MyFETTish 11 years ago
I am working on building a Hive Mind deck. I am wondering if one of the pacts would be copied twice. my example would be: 1Pact of the Titan + 2 Hive Mind would create what for creatures and mana that needs to be paid during upkeep?
each person would get two 4/4 giants, except for the person that cast it., seeing that it says that each other person copies it, and not all. Which means the caster would get the original, all other players would get two copies...
February 22, 2014 10:47 p.m.
@GoldGhost012: That is incorrect. No matter who controls the Hive Mind s, whenever a player casts a spell, each of that player's opponents gets X copies of that spell, where X is the number of Hive Minds on the battlefield. It doesn't matter who controls them. (To further explain, the "other player" in Hive Mind's rules text refers to each player other than the spell's caster, not each player other than Hive Mind's controller. Furthermore, the copies created by Hive Mind aren't cast, so they don't themselves trigger Hive Mind).
If there are two Hive Minds in play and you cast Pact of the Titan , you will get one token and will need to pay 4R and each other player will get two tokens and have to pay 8RR.
February 22, 2014 11:13 p.m.
More information is needed for a good answer.
If you control both of the Hive Mind 's your opponent will have 2 copies of the spell including titans and 2 pact triggers.
If you both have one then then your opponent will only have one titan and one pact.
February 22, 2014 11:17 p.m.
GoldGhost012 says... #5
Hmm, yes, didn't quite see that. Thank you for the catch Drilnoth.
February 22, 2014 11:21 p.m.
@themucher: As I said above, who controls how many Hive Mind s doesn't matter. It will always end up the the original caster getting only the original spell and each other player getting multiple copies.
February 22, 2014 11:39 p.m.
you are correct, i mistook the idea of who controlled the pact spells with who controlled the hive mind
GoldGhost012 says... #1
That kinda depends on how many players there are and who controls the second Hive Mind . Let's say that there are two players (you and an opponent), and you control Hive Mind . Then your opponents will get 2 copies of the Pact of the Titan (one for each Hive Mind ) and will get 2 tokens and have to pay 4R twice, or 8RR. You will only get 1 token and have to pay 4R.
If you and your opponent each control a Hive Mind , the opposite occurs. You will get 2 tokens and have to pay 4R twice (8RR) while your opponent gets one token and has to pay 4R
February 22, 2014 10:45 p.m.