If I used Gridlock to tap target creature an opponent controls does that creature permanently stay tapped

Asked by cts2683 11 years ago

It doesnt exactly say for sure or not and me and my brother in-law each have pretty good arguements on how the card is used he says for it to stay tapped it would say does not untap during opponents next untap step like clausterphobia , I say it stays tapped because it dont specify that it actually ever untaps again

pskinn01 says... Accepted answer #1

Gridlock only taps the permanents, it does not prevent them from untapping. The rules of magic are only overridden by a spell if that spell specifically states something happens.

for example, a spell that says that each player may only untap one land each turn, would change the way that the untap phase happens. The untap phase untaps all permanents of the player whose turn it is. Something would have to specify that it was going to change it, for there to be a change.

April 29, 2014 11:35 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #2

by spell, I mean by either a spell or a permanent. sorry was not thinking to explain my self more clearly.

April 29, 2014 11:36 p.m.

kmcree says... #3

Please link cards in you question: Gridlock

It untaps normally during your opponent's next untap step. If it remained tapped permanently it would something like "doesn't untap while Gridlock remains on the battlefield".

April 29, 2014 11:37 p.m.

Tiktacy says... #4

What Gridlock says is that you "tap x permanents" but it does not specify that way do not untap during your untap step(like Wall of Frost for example). Untap steps are part of your turns and phases and MUST happen unless a card says otherwise.

I don't have a source, but I know think one is really needed since it's sort of a simple question with a simple answer(but I can see where the confusion lies). Just look up "mtg turns and phases" and read up on the "untap step" if you are still uncertain, that should explain it in more detail.

April 30, 2014 12:03 a.m.

This discussion has been closed