how does Conflagrate work ????

Asked by wikidpanda-the-boss 11 years ago

double overpowered fireball????

Devonin says... Accepted answer #1

Er nope.

When you cast Conflagrate you declare a value for X, say X=5.

That means the total cost of the spell is XXR or 55R or 11 mana in total, and will deal X (5) damage divided however you like among target creatures and players.

February 26, 2014 2:47 p.m.

Blackblade says... #2

Double X means twice the mana costs. Meaning that if you pay 4 mana you deal 2 damage.so if you discard 6 cards after paying the flashback cost you will deal 3 damage.

February 26, 2014 2:48 p.m.

Devonin says... #3

@blackblade That's not correct. Flashback cost is RR, Discard X cards. And the rules text simply says "Deals X damage"

Only the regular mana cost deals with the halving effect of XX in the cost. Discarding 6 cards and paying RR will deal 6 damage.

February 26, 2014 3:02 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Also, Blackblade, you declare X values, then determine costs. X is not derived from the payment. The payment is derived from X.

February 26, 2014 3:27 p.m.

Blackblade says... #5

yes right you are. thanks for cleaning up my comment for a clear answer

February 26, 2014 7:11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed