How does cascade work in EDH?

Asked by Shamrock 12 years ago

In the reminder text for Cascade it states "...exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card that costs less...." It doesn't mention CMC, so I was wondering if the additional cost to cast a commander, such as Maelstrom Wanderer, would increase the cost referred to in the reminder text, thus allowing me to cast higher costing spells for free with Cascade as the game goes on.

cartwheelnurd says... #1

I think it refers to the CMC

November 18, 2012 9:18 p.m.

hunter9000 says... Accepted answer #2

Cascade does use the CMC of the cards involved. The reminder text doesn't say it, but the comprehensive rules do. Maelstrom Wanderer 's cascade ability would always look for cards with CMC 8 or less, no matter what additional costs you actually paid when casting it. CMC is exactly what's printed on the card.

702.83a Cascade is a triggered ability that functions only while the spell with cascade is on the stack. Cascade means When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card whose converted mana cost is less than this spells converted mana cost. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that werent cast on the bottom of your library in a random order.

November 18, 2012 9:20 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

The reminder text for a keyword ability (the text printed like this) isn't real rules text, it's just an abbreviated version that gives a quick explanation of how the card works. This is usually because the full rules text of the keyword it's explaining wouldn't fit on the card. Whenever the reminder text for a keyword is saying something confusing, look to the full rules text of the keyword for clarification (like the full rules text for Cascade provided by hunter9000).

November 18, 2012 9:34 p.m.

This discussion has been closed