Grusilda and walking skyscraper?

Asked by Fritzn 3 years ago

backstory: wanting to build a commander deck with a silver bordered commander, but the 99 is a normal deck

So I'm curious if the creatures created by Grusilda, Monster Masher would be considered modified in the context of something like Walking Skyscraper?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

As the rules are written, Modified doesn't include "combined" creatures. You are already running a silver border commander though, so it is up to the discretion of the group that is already letting you play an illegal card. If I were in the group, I would still say "no". The closest black border mechanic to combine is Mutate, and mutated cards are not counted as Modified.

700.9. Some cards refer to modified creatures. A creature is modified if it has one or more counters on it (see rule 122), if it is equipped (see rule 301.5), or if it is enchanted by an Aura that is controlled by that creature’s controller. (see rule 303.4). If an ability of a permanent checks to see whether that permanent is modified, the answer is always no if that permanent isn’t a currently a creature.

May 10, 2022 2:30 p.m.

Please login to comment