Genju + Pernicious Deed

Asked by Emzed 11 years ago

Does Genju of the Cedars return to my hand when it is attached to a 4/4 Forest creature and my opponent activates Pernicious Deed for 1?

gimlear says... #1

Short answer: yes.

Long answer: When your opponent activates Pernicious Deed for any amount (even 0), your 4/4 Land Creature - Forest Spirit dies (the CMC of the land is 0). The last ability of Genju of the Cedars triggers, returning the enchantment to your hand.

December 4, 2013 4:42 p.m.

Sam_I_am says... #2

No, it wouldn't go back to your hand. Pernicious Deed itself places it into the graveyard, and the card in the graveyard is a completely different object

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are seven exceptions to this rule:

December 4, 2013 4:55 p.m.

Sam_I_am says... Accepted answer #3

nevermind that. there's a specific exception

400.7e Abilities of Auras that trigger when the enchanted permanent leaves the battlefield can find the new object that Aura became in its owners graveyard if it was put into that graveyard at the same time the enchanted permanent left the battlefield. It can also find the new object that Aura became in its owners graveyard as a result of being put there as a state-based action for not being attached to a permanent. (See rule 704.5n.)

December 4, 2013 4:57 p.m.

abenz419 says... #4

this actually depends on the situation. If you haven't activated the ability of Genju of the Cedars then your land is simply a forest with an enchantment attached to it. So, when your opponent activates Pernicious Deed for x=1 the enchantment gets destroyed but not the land. In that scenario the last ability on Genju of the Cedars will not trigger.

December 4, 2013 7:53 p.m.

Emzed says... #5

Read the question again ;) I specifically asked for the scenario where i have animated my forest already.

December 4, 2013 8:26 p.m.

This discussion has been closed