Fling during blocking

Asked by metalhead27 13 years ago

i ran into this incident and was weirded out by it someone block a bigger creature but then flinged the blocked (even though it should have died from combat) can this be done? Fling a creature that should go to the graveyard as result of combat?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

For the sake of understanding, allow me to create a hypothetical scenario. Say Player A is attacking Player B with a Goblin Piker . Player B blocks it with Spined Wurm .

Two things can happen here:

1) After blockers are declared, but before combat damage is dealt, Player A may cast Fling , sacrificing Goblin Piker.

2) Combat damage is dealt. The Goblin Piker is dealt 5 damage, and the Spined Wurm is dealt 2 damage. After combat damage is dealt, and before any player receives priority, state-based actions check and notice that Goblin Piker has died. Goblin Piker is put into its owner's graveyard before SBAs finish checking, and therefore the next time Player A would receive priority, Goblin Piker will no longer be on the battlefield.

Note the following rules quote:

509.5. Fifth, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.

This is an excerpt from the Comprehensive Rules, section 509, "Declare Blockers Step". The active player gets priority after blockers have been declared and damage assignment order has been announced, but before the game progresses to the Combat Damage Step.

August 30, 2011 11:59 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Also note that an attacking creature which has been sacrificed to Fling will neither deal nor receive combat damage, as it is removed from combat and is in its owner's graveyard during the Combat Damage Step.

August 31, 2011 midnight

mozerdozer says... #3

It would be good to note that in this situation, there is no way the Spined Wurm could be killed as a combination of combat damage and damage from Fling in case that was not clear.

August 31, 2011 7 a.m.

mozerdozer says... #4

Just noticed that if they regenerate it, they could have it's power dealt twice to the attacking creature.

August 31, 2011 5:56 p.m.

no it cant regenerate removes the creature from combat if it takes leathal damage at any point during combat

but if you happen to play by old combat rules you could wait for the combat damage to be put onto the stack then cast fling and chuck the creature a somthing, the attacking/blocking creature would take damage and could still use fling to deal damage to something including the attacking/blocker

but most people dont play by the old rules anymore unforchenetly

the old ruels were fun

September 1, 2011 6:41 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

If Goblin Piker was regenerated, it would deal 2 damage to the Spined Wurm, then be regenerated. Then, if you Fling it at the Wurm, you've essentially got it to deal its power to the Wurm twice.

My scenario deviated a bit because the smaller creature blocked the larger on in OP's post, but the principles are the same.

September 1, 2011 9:24 a.m.

metalhead27 says... #7

ok now that theres actually somewhat of a scenario was more reversed

Spined Wurm attacks opponent blocks with Goblin Piker then cast Fling to deal another 2 to kill Spined Wurm that was more of what the situation was.is that possible?

September 3, 2011 12:23 a.m.

in the old rules most people dont use any more yes

but with the proper tornoment rules no

September 3, 2011 3:55 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #9

No. Damage still does not use the stack. This is a basic game principle and not a matter of whether a certain creature is attacking or blocking.

September 3, 2011 12:36 p.m.

This discussion has been closed