Estrid's Invocation copying auras, different targets?
Asked by Swebb87 2 years ago
As per title, if I choose to copy an aura enchanted on creature A, can I enchant creature B with the copy? Or must it target the same creature?
As per title, if I choose to copy an aura enchanted on creature A, can I enchant creature B with the copy? Or must it target the same creature?
dragonstryke58 says... Accepted answer #1
You choose what the aura will enchant (as long as it can legally enchant it) as the aura is entering the battlefield. So yes you can have Estrid's Invocation enter as a copy of an aura enchanting creature A, but instead enchant creature B.
Also, it should be noted that attaching the aura in this case does not target, so it can get around hexproof and shroud.
MTG Comprehensive Rules:
303.4f: If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player's control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn't specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield.
October 14, 2022 10:51 p.m. Edited.