edh commander?

Asked by burliestzero 10 years ago

can Withengar Unbound  Flip be used as commander?

TheRedMage says... #1

No. The front side of the card needs to be a legendary creature.

June 30, 2015 1:31 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

In all zones except on the battlefield while transformed, Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip has only the properties of its front face. Withengar Unbound  Flip doesn't exist until Elbrus is transformed. Therefore, the card is not a legendary creature in its default state, and is not a legal commander according to the official rules.

However, you are free to ask your playgroup whether they would consider a house rule that allows you to play with it anyway.

June 30, 2015 2:06 p.m.

This discussion has been closed