Double enchanting a creature

Asked by keshav 13 years ago

Let's say I have Angel of Despair out, and I enchant it with two Soul Link s. If it deals damage to a player, would the Soul Link effects stack? In other words, would I gain 5 life or 10?

Siegfried says... #1

Each Soul Link has a separate triggered ability, and they will both respond to the Angel dealing damage. You end up gaining 10 life.

July 17, 2011 11:22 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Each Soul Link has two triggered abilities - one that triggers when the enchanted creature deals damage and one that triggers when it is dealt damage. Therefore, each time it deals damage (whether or not that damage is dealt to a player or creature is irrelevant), each Soul Link will trigger and put an ability on the stack. If both abilities resolve (assuming they aren't countered by Voidslime or something), then you will gain life equal to however much damage it dealt, then gain that much again. In the end, you gain 10 life total.

Be careful when reading enchantments, though. Most cards that say "Whenever this creature deals damage, you gain that much life" have been errata'd to say "lifelink". Lifelink is a static ability, and does not stack, while the ability granted by Soul Link is triggered and does stack. Soul Link happens to be one of the cards that was not altered in the oracle rulings to say lifelink, so you gain 10 rather than 5.

July 17, 2011 11:28 p.m.

keshav says... #3

Awesome, thanks for your help

July 18, 2011 12:09 a.m.

This discussion has been closed