does tamiyo's ultimate return herself?
Asked by SwiftDeath 13 years ago
if Tamiyo, the Moon Sage is at 8 loyalty and you use her ultimate that gives you an emblem that says if a card is put into your graveyard from anywhere, return it to your hand. then does she return to your hand or does the ability not resolve until after tamiyo is put into the graveyard?
NobodyPicksBulbasaur says... #2
Correct. Tamiyo would have to remain on the field until after her ultimate resolves in order to return to your hand when she hits the grave. Once you get an emblem, however, there is currently nothing in the game that can remove it.
June 28, 2012 11:26 p.m.
PEOPLE... GO READ GATHERER OR MAGICCARDS.INFO :)
"5/1/2012: If you activate Tamiyo's third ability when she has eight loyalty counters on her, she'll be put into your graveyard before the emblem is created. She won't return to your hand."
June 29, 2012 12:41 a.m.
Isn't that exactly what we just said? Or is this directed at the asker? I'm confused...
June 29, 2012 1:05 a.m.
GoblinsInc says... #5
He's saying rather than bother people by asking this question here, go read the rulings on gatherer or magiccards.info
June 29, 2012 1:13 a.m.
NobodyPicksBulbasaur says... #6
If your friend asked you what a word meant, would you throw a dictionary at his face? Sometimes its nice to just ask so you get an answer in plain english, along with a reasoning for it.
June 29, 2012 1:19 a.m.
I don't know about you, but "She won't return to your hand." sounds pretty good to me :) That is clearly stated in Gatherer, along with appropriate rulings...
June 29, 2012 1:48 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #8
Next time you ask a question, I'll try to remember to tell you READ THE RULES WHAT THE HELL MAN and post an extensive quote from the CR.
Don't be a smartass.
BrianH369 says... Accepted answer #1
Removing the loyalty counters is a cost of activating the ability. If you were to remove enough loyalty counters to bring the number of counters on Tamiyo to 0 then she would be sent to the Graveyard as a result of state based effects. After this has happened, the ability would hit the stack, and then finally resolve.
So, no, Tamiyo would not go to your hand.
June 28, 2012 11:09 p.m.