Does "play from anywhere" need cost?
Asked by gameraji75 11 years ago
Example:Yawgmoth's Will is cast from my hand. There are 2 creatures with 2 converted mana costs, 2 lands, 2 sorceries with 2 converted mana costs, in my graveyard, and 4 untapped lands on the battlefield. Which can be "played" by Yawgmoth's Will 's effect? (because I assume that "play" means put in the battlefield without paying costs.)
gameraji75 says... #2
what about lands? so they may return to the battlefield? if so, they are not tapped right?
September 19, 2013 10:10 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #3
Like GinjaNinja said, "play" means "play it if it's a land and cast it if it's a spell". Yawgmoth's Will does let you play lands from your graveyard. They enter the battlefield the same way they would as if you played them normally, and they count against your current land-play limit for the turn.
September 19, 2013 10:12 a.m.
RedKunoichi says... #4
Yup, if there is a land in your graveyard you may play it as if it were in your hand, but keep in mind that if you already played a land you can't play another one from your graveyard. And the land would enter however it normally would.
September 19, 2013 10:13 a.m.
gameraji75 says... #5
thanks. last question on Yawgmoth's Will . If my cards are sent to the graveyard (like sorceries or instants) BEFORE I cast Yawgmoth's Will , would they be exiled? (I assume this because Yawgmoth's Will says "this turn")
September 19, 2013 10:26 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #6
Sometimes it helps to check the current Oracle wording for older cards, because many have been rewritten to be more clear about exactly how they work.
According to Gatherer, that part of Yawgmoth's Will has been rewritten to say "If a card would be put into your graveyard from anywhere this turn, exile that card instead." This is something that only takes effect at the time Will resolves. It doesn't go back in time and exile things that were already put into the graveyard before it resolved (which would make many of the combos this is famous for stop working completely).
September 19, 2013 10:43 a.m.
megawurmple says... #7
Please choose a best answer to avoid clogging up the Q&A.
RedKunoichi says... Accepted answer #1
Rule 701.11b
To play a card means to play that card as a land or to cast that car as a spell, whichever is appropriate.
So no, you must pay the mana cost of the card. unless it specifically says "without paying it's mana cost"
September 19, 2013 10:07 a.m.