Does Fog Bank stop Trample

Asked by One_Myle 12 years ago

Fog Bank ability is: " Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to and dealt by fog bank."

Tramples effect is: "If this creature would assign enough damage to its blockers to destroy them, you may have it assign the rest of its damage to defending player or planeswalker."

So does this mean Fog Bank stops trample?

perralkov says... #1

No, it doesn't, as trample damage (attacking creature's power less blocking creature's toughness) is assigned to defending player. The same goes with trample and colour protection. Fog Bank is an amazing card, but trample is trample.

June 10, 2013 7:21 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

@perralkov: That doesn't really answer the question. We need to explain how trample works, not just that it does work.

Actually, this question has probably been asked about two or three times in the past week.

Trample works in situations like these because the assignment of damage is different from the dealing of damage. When you assign trample damage, you first assign enough damage to each blocker such that that damage, if dealt, would be lethal. Trample therefore considers abilities like deathtouch, but it does not consider whether the damage will be prevented or whether the result of damage will change.

Assuming no damage has already been dealt to Fog Bank this turn, the trampler must assign 2 damage to Fog Bank . The rest can be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker. Then, damage is dealt. Fog Bank prevents the combat damage that would be dealt to it, but nothing prevents the combat damage that would be dealt to the defending player or planeswalker.

June 10, 2013 9:35 a.m.

Sollisnexus says... #3

Tample works by giving the additional damage not recieved by the creature that is attacking directly to the player. Fog Bank doesn't die and blocks a portion of the attack (2 Damage absorbed) but anything more the 2 can be given to the player as additional damage (3 or more) [An Example is a 4/4 creature with trample attacking a Fog Bank , The damage to fog bank is null but the extra 2 goes directly to the opppent and not to the fog bank.]

June 10, 2013 10:30 a.m.

Sollisnexus says... #4

Trample* -cough-

June 10, 2013 10:35 a.m.

Capone47 says... #5

Now this is interesting. Well fog bank is weak we can agree it's a 0/2. But it's ability states that all combat damage is prevented by both parties. Theoretically, a blocker must take all attacking damage before excess can be assigned, so theoretically fog bank can absorb all whatever amount of damage is dealt and leave the player squeaky clean. A normal blocker would take damage and die then the excess would be dealt as trample activates and player loses life and a blocker. Fog bank takes all the damage which would pretty much kill it by everything since most tramples would leave it with at least a -2 toughness. But it's ability prevents damage from killing it. So in reason a creature that deals let's say 8 damage to 0/2 fog bank would have excess 6 damage. Fog banks ability prevents it from being killed but it would still per blocker ruling take all 8 damage, therefore trample shouldn't be activated. It could go either way it's all in how you interpret the cards. But a main rule is card text overrules

April 18, 2016 4:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

@Capone47: This question was correctly answered three years ago. Please reread the accepted answer.

Additionally, note that damage does not reduce toughness, and that trample is not an activated ability.

April 18, 2016 5:11 p.m.

Capone47 says... #7

Tramples broken

April 18, 2016 7:23 p.m.

This discussion has been closed