Does Eidolon of Rhetoric prevent me from casting Salt Road Patrol and activating the outlast ability?

Asked by Remy5683 4 years ago

Say Eidolon of Rhetoric is on the battlefield. Can I cast a card that has the ability outlast, like Salt Road Patrol , and in the same turn, pay to activate outlast? Or is outlast considered casting a spell, since it says "Outlast only as a sorcery"?

filledelanuit says... #1

You can outlast Salt Road Patrol even with Eidolon on the battlefield. The sorcery clause makes so you can only activate it during your main phase and not at whenever you could cast an instant. The only thing that is considered a spell is an actual spell.

May 2, 2015 3:11 p.m.

Pilz_753 says... Accepted answer #2

Note that you can't outlast a creature the turn it comes into play no matter what since outlast is a tap ability. The outlast "only as a sorcery" clause just means that you can only use the ability during your main phase when the stack is empty and doesn't make the ability count as a spell or anything like that.

May 2, 2015 3:58 p.m.

Denial048 says... #3

@magicnerd0815 unless you give it Haste, of course.

May 2, 2015 8:12 p.m.

Pilz_753 says... #4

Denial048 yes, of course. I should've mentioned that.

May 3, 2015 3:05 a.m.

This discussion has been closed